Overview

Quarton, A Cowen Company advises BE Beteiligungen, Novum Capital and the Management on the sale of VulkaTec to the Bauder group

Quarton, A Cowen Company advised BE Beteiligungen Fonds GmbH  Co. KG (“BE Beteiligungen”) and Novum Capital Special Opportunities Fund I GmbH & Co. KG (“Novum Capital”) on the sale of Vulkatec Beteiligungsgesellschaft mbH and VulkaTec Riebensahm GmbH (“VulkaTec”) to Paul Bauder GmbH & Co. KG (“Bauder group”). Other sellers of VulkaTec were the management and members of the founding family.

VulkaTec is one of the European market leaders for roof and tree substrates. The company is specialized in the production, formulation and supply of plant substrates predominantly based on volcanic rock materials. The product portfolio includes plant and vegetation substrates, aggregates, building materials and filter materials.

Through the acquisition, the Bauder group gains exclusive access to one of the market leaders for rooftop greening substrates in Europe. The acquisition is highly synergistic for both partners, it enables the Bauder group to provide the full portfolio across its value chain of roof services from roof design over materials and construction to greening, while enabling VulkaTec to leverage the Bauder groups’ significant client base in urban roofing.

Rolf Brodbeck and Roland Eschmann, Managing Directors of BE Beteiligungen: “We are very pleased that the sale to the Bauder Group will continue the successfully implemented green growth strategy. The new constellation opens up ideal opportunities to shape the leading player in the growing market for urban greening and green roof systems. This is an excellent signal, especially for the employees and management of both companies.”

Felix Homann, Partner of Novum Capital: “Having seen VulkaTec grow from 50 employees and sales of around 17 million euros in 2014 to 75 employees and revenues of 25 million euros in 2019 during the period of our investment, we are excited for its future as part of the Bauder group. The combination of VulkaTec’s loyal customer base of landscaping gardeners and Bauder’s green roof systems and access to building material merchants will form a strong player in the green roofing market.”

 About BE Beteiligungen

BE Beteiligungen, located in Cologne, invests in small and medium-sized companies and already has invested in numerous companies in Germany. The range of industries is highly diversified and focuses on market segments with sustainable needs and demand. BE’s objective is to work with management and other shareholders to enhance the growth potential of the Portfolio Companies. The company currently manages a fund volume of 60 million euros, which was provided by two renowned financial institutions.

 About Novum Capital

Frankfurt-based investment firm Novum Capital invests in small and medium-sized companies with an annual revenue of up to 200 million euros on behalf of German and international pension funds, private pension schemes and foundations. The goal of these investments is to increase the value of the company by providing growth support through capital and business expertise; to improve profitability in a sustainable manner for further growth financing; and to enhance the benefits of the business model for the company.

About VulkaTec Riebensahm GmbH

VulkaTec Riebensahm GmbH (“VulkaTec”), based in Kretz/Andernach, was founded in 1986. The name VulkaTec derives from the German word for volcanic rock (“Vulkangestein”) and the word technology, perfectly describing the company’s focus on refining natural volcanic materials using modern processing techniques. VulkaTec is Germany’s leading manufacturer of volcanic planting substrates (e.g. for roof greening and tree rehabilitation) as well as volcanic industrial raw material products (e.g. filtration of drinking water and wastewater, noise protection and surface treatment). The profitable company generated sales of 25 million euros in the year 2019, more than 90 percent of which in the greening sector (roof greening, tree planting, lawn substrates, pond substrates, interior greening, etc.), and employs a workforce of 75 people. A quarter of VulkaTec’s annual turnover is generated in other European countries.

About Bauder group

The Paul Bauder GmbH & Co. KG in Stuttgart is Europe’s leading manufacturer of roof systems and has been owner-managed for more than 160 years. From a single source, the Bauder group offers comprehensive advice and all materials for sealing, insulating, landscaping and energy generation, giving planners, building owners and contractors the confidence to make the best decision for their roofs. In Germany one in four flat roofs and one in five rafter-mounted thermal insulation systems are supplied by the Bauder group.

Around 1,100 employees work at the main factory in Stuttgart and the seven other factories in Bochum, Herten, Landsberg near Halle, Achim near Bremen, Bernsdorf and Schwepnitz near Dresden and Bruck an der Leitha near Vienna. Six sales groups in Germany and sales companies in 14 countries ensure constant customer proximity.

Übersicht

Quarton, A Cowen Company berät BE Beteiligungen, Novum Capital und das Management beim Verkauf von VulkaTec an die Bauder-Gruppe

Quarton, A Cowen Company hat die BE Beteiligungen Fonds GmbH & Co. KG („BE Beteiligungen”) und die Novum Capital („Novum Capital”) Special Opportunities Fund I GmbH & Co. KG beim Verkauf der Vulkatec Beteiligungsgesellschaft mbH sowie der VulkaTec Riebensahm GmbH („VulkaTec“) an die Paul Bauder GmbH & Co. KG („Bauder-Gruppe“) beraten. Weitere Verkäufer von VulkaTec waren das Management und Vertreter der Gründungsfamilie.

VulkaTec ist einer der europäischen Marktführer für Dach- und Baumsubstrate.  Das Unternehmen ist auf die Herstellung, Rezeptur und Lieferung von Pflanzensubstraten spezialisiert, die überwiegend auf vulkanischem Gesteinsmaterial basieren. Das Produktportfolio umfasst Pflanz- und Vegetationssubstrate, Zuschlagstoffe, Baustoffe und Filtermaterialien.

Durch die Übernahme erhält die Bauder-Gruppe exklusiven Zugang zu einem der Marktführer für Dachbegrünungssubstrate in Europa. Die Übernahme ist für beide Partner synergetisch, denn sie ermöglicht es der Bauder-Gruppe, das komplette Portfolio über die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette der Dachdienstleistungen vom Dachdesign über Materialien und Konstruktion bis hin zur Begrünung anzubieten, während VulkaTec den bedeutenden Kundenstamm der Bauder-Gruppe im Bereich der städtischen Bedachung nutzen kann.

Rolf Brodbeck und Roland Eschmann, Geschäftsführer von BE Beteiligungen: „Wir freuen uns sehr, dass mit dem Verkauf an die Bauder-Gruppe die erfolgreich umgesetzte grüne Wachstumsstrategie fortgesetzt wird. Die neue Konstellation eröffnet ideale Möglichkeiten, den führenden Player im wachsenden Markt für Stadtbegrünung und Dachbegrünungen zu gestalten. Dies ist ein hervorragendes Signal, insbesondere für die Mitarbeiter und das Management beider Unternehmen.“

Felix Homann, Partner von Novum Capital: „Nachdem VulkaTec im Zeitraum unserer Investition von 50 Mitarbeitern und einem Umsatz von rund 17 Millionen Euro im Jahr 2014 auf 75 Mitarbeiter und einen Umsatz von 25 Millionen Euro im Jahr 2019 gewachsen ist, freuen wir uns auf die Zukunft der VulkaTec als Teil der Bauder-Gruppe. Durch die Kombination aus dem treuen Kundenstamm von VulkaTec im Garten- und Landschaftsbau und den Bauder Dachbegrünungssystemen sowie dem Zugang zum Baustoffhandel wird ein starker Akteur im Markt für Dachbegrünungen entstehen.“

Über BE Investment-Partners GmbH

BE Beteiligungen, mit Sitz in Köln, investiert in kleine und mittlere Unternehmen und hat bereits in zahlreiche Unternehmen in Deutschland investiert. Das Branchenspektrum ist stark diversifiziert und konzentriert sich auf Marktsegmente mit nachhaltigem Bedarf und Nachfrage. Ziel von BE ist es, gemeinsam mit dem Management und anderen Anteilseignern das Wachstumspotenzial der Portfoliounternehmen zu steigern. Das Unternehmen verwaltet derzeit ein Fondsvolumen von 60 Millionen Euro, das von zwei renommierten Finanzinstituten bereitgestellt wurde.

Über Novum Capital Beratungsgesellschaft mbH

Die Frankfurter Investmentgesellschaft Novum Capital investiert im Auftrag deutscher und internationaler Pensionskassen, privater Pensionskassen und Stiftungen in kleine und mittlere Unternehmen mit einem Jahresumsatz von bis zu 200 Millionen Euro. Ziel dieser Investitionen ist es, den Wert des Unternehmens durch Wachstumsunterstützung mit Kapital und betriebswirtschaftlichem Know-how zu steigern, die Rentabilität für weitere Wachstumsfinanzierungen nachhaltig zu verbessern und den Nutzen des Geschäftsmodells für das Unternehmen zu erhöhen.

Über VulkaTec Riebensahm GmbH

Die VulkaTec Riebensahm GmbH, mit Sitz in Kretz/Andernach, wurde 1986 gegründet. Der Name VulkaTec leitet sich aus den deutschen Wörtern für Vulkangestein und Technologie ab und beschreibt die Ausrichtung des Unternehmens auf die Veredelung von natürlichen vulkanischen Materialien mit modernen Verarbeitungstechniken. VulkaTec ist Deutschlands führender Hersteller von vulkanischen Pflanzsubstraten (z.B. für Dachbegrünung und Baumsanierung) sowie von vulkanischen Industrierohstoffprodukten (z.B. Filtration von Trink- und Abwasser, Lärmschutz und Oberflächenbehandlung). Das profitable Unternehmen erwirtschaftete im Jahr 2019 einen Umsatz von 25 Millionen Euro, davon mehr als 90 Prozent im Bereich der Begrünung (Dachbegrünung, Baumpflanzung, Rasensubstrate, Teichsubstrate, Innenbegrünung etc.), und beschäftigt 75 Mitarbeiter. Ein Viertel des Jahresumsatzes der VulkaTec wird im europäischen Ausland erwirtschaftet.

Über Bauder-Gruppe

Die Paul Bauder GmbH & Co. KG in Stuttgart ist führender Hersteller von Dachsystemen in Europa und seit mehr als 160 Jahren inhabergeführt. Aus einer Hand bietet die Bauder-Gruppe umfassende Beratung sowie alle Materialien zum Dichten, Dämmen, Begrünen und Energie Gewinnen und gibt somit Planern, Bauherren und Verarbeitern die Sicherheit, die beste Entscheidung fürs Dach zu treffen. In Deutschland kommen die Abdichtung für jedes vierte Flachdach und jede fünfte Aufsparren-Wärmedämmung von der Bauder-Gruppe.

Etwa 1.100 Mitarbeiter und Mitarbeiterinnen arbeiten im Hauptwerk Stuttgart sowie in den sieben weiteren Werken in Bochum, Herten, Landsberg bei Halle, Achim bei Bremen, Bernsdorf und Schwepnitz bei Dresden sowie Bruck an der Leitha bei Wien. Sechs Verkaufsgruppen in Deutschland und Vertriebsgesellschaften in 14 Ländern sorgen für ständige Kundennähe.